How to have successful resolutions


Time is simply how you spend your life  ~ Craig Sager

…we don’t get to choose our time.  Death is what gives life meaning.  ~ Dr. Strange 

Resolution time is about us and flocks of people are gearing up for change.

“This year will be my year!”  

“2016 is where you learned the lesson.  2017 is where you apply it”

This sentiment is littered throughout social media, the gyms, people’s mouths and every where you look. What happens come February though?

Most of these same individuals may hit a bump in the road or just simply revert back to their regular routines. Why?

What is it that makes resolutions so fleeting?  Well, I’ll tell you. Resolutions are all bullshit. They’re mostly broad statements with no particulars about how you’ll arrive at these solutions.

Dreams without goals remain dreams. Just dreams. Goals on the road to achievement cannot be achieved without discipline and consistency. Between goals and achievement are discipline and consistency.   ~ Denzel Washington

You see the issue is that people want things without a clear direction of how to get there. I’m one of these people, or, at least I was. My story isn’t horrible, but to me it was a huge detriment to my success. I made a business and personal decision that almost led to financial ruin. After several weeks of scolding myself, I  decided “fuck it!  This can’t be my story”

 

I took a close look at what I have and what I would like, somewhere in the middle was a plan. I scrutinized my previous decisions and leapt to the forefront, creating detailed goals.  This all took place at the end of November. I didn’t see any reason to wait until January one and I’m not special, you can do the same.

I consistently hear people say, I want to quit smoking, but I’ll wait until after {insert bullshit event}. These people are not serious, they’re dabbling their feet in the waters of change. If you truly want something, you’ll find the means to arrive at your plot point.

Make a concise plan, write that shit down, review it every day until its committed to memory. It’ll become a habit that’ll morph into a routine.  Before you know it, it’ll be part of your daily process like brushing your teeth every morning and night. Momentum is a beautiful thing.

This is a fact of life, nothing in this world is free. What are you willing to sacrifice to obtain your goals?  It could be anything, sleep, nights out, drugs, booze, cigarettes, etcetera.  This may free up money and carve out extra time.

I’ve never viewed myself as particularly talented. I’ve viewed myself as…slightly above average in talent. Where I excel is with a ridiculous, sickening work ethic. While the other guys sleeping, I’m working. While the other guy’s eating, I’m working. While the other guy’s making love, I mean, I’m making love, too, but I’m working really hard at it! ~ Will Smith

Pay yourself first, I’ll tell you now that nobody’s going to shoulder your burden but you.  People will help, but everyone has their own story and set of issues to work out. Set yourself up with a savings plan or fail safe. I put away 20% of what I earn now because it’s an absolute must.

Eat well, laugh often and don’t be cunty to people. Treat others with the same reverence that you’d expect. Tell the people in your life that you love, that you love them.  Just be an all around genuine person.

Let me conclude with a disclaimer, this works for me. We’re not all the same, if you need to tweak this, do so.  There are no hard and fast rules to living, this is just what I’ve learned. Good luck and like my buddy says “BE EXCELLENT!”

Poivre Noir

{Featured image courtesy of:  www.theyoungmommylife.com}

Leave a comment