XX/XY:  Be My Valentine


“Romance is about the possibility of the thing. You see, it’s about the time between when you first meet some fine ass woman, and when you first make love to her; When you first ask a woman to marry you, and when she says I do. When people who been together a long time say that the romance is gone, what they’re really saying is they’ve exhausted the possibility.”

~ Darius Lovehall, Love Jones (1997)

Don’t get hung up on the date. Everyone gets hung up on the date. Could I show you I love you any other day?  Sure.  However, you’re dealing with an exhibitionist, a live wire, a flamboyant personality that loves showmanship.

I celebrate you every morning when I roll over to your slumbering beauty. The sun illuminates your flawless face and fondles your exposed flesh. In this moment I understand that you are the sun and no candle can shine brighter.

Many men realize this and patiently wait for the deterioration of our union. They want my spot and boast about their attributes.   What they don’t see is that my moonlight shines bright, creating the perfect synergy. I don’t get complacent.  I remember how I felt in the beginning.   Am I getting too deep?  I hope so because you are worth these words.  My goal is to slide into your yang with my yin, mentally, physically and emotionally.

So, on this day, I go big, large, enormous, but not with traditional gifts like jewellery and spas.  You can get that work twenty-four, seven, three sixty-five. I want to make you something with my hands.  A trinket, moment or experience that rents out space inside your heart.

It took me awhile to understand the purpose of flowers. In my mind they were a hallmark media prop, but I feel we appreciate the beauty of a flower because it isn’t forever.

I believe that you are forever though and I will love you in whatever incarnation you become – quarter-life, young adulthood, pregnancy, motherhood, retirement, old age.  I want it all!  I want you, not because Hallmark, Bulk Barn and the florist dictate it, but because I do.

Happy Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

